audio close compressed excel image menu pdf video word

Our people

Our people

Our board, executive and investment teams have extensive industry experience including financial and investment expertise.

Board Members

Terrence A Campbell AOChairman and Independent Non-Executive DirectorBCom (Melb)

Chairman of the Investment Committee.

Mr Campbell has been a Director of the Company since December 1998. He is Chairman Emeritus of Goldman Sachs Australia (formerly Goldman Sachs JBWere). Mr Campbell was formerly Chairman and Chief Executive of Goldman Sachs JBWere. He is a former Chairman of Australian Foundation Investment Company Limited (AFIC) and AMCIL Limited and a former Director of Djerriwarrh Investments Limited.

Mark FreemanManaging DirectorBE, MBA, Grad Dip App Fin (Sec Inst), AMP (INSEAD)

Managing Director and Member of the Investment Committee.

Mr Freeman was appointed as Managing Director in January 2018 having been Chief Investment Officer since joining the Company in February 2007. Prior to this he was a Partner with Goldman Sachs JBWere where he spent 12 years advising the Investment Companies on their investment and dealing activities. He has a deep knowledge and experience of investments markets and the Company’s approaches, policies and processes. He is also Managing Director of AFIC, Djerriwarrh Investments Limited and AMCIL Limited.

Ross E BarkerNon-Executive DirectorBSc (Hons) MBA F Fin

Member of the Audit and Investment Committees.

Mr Barker has been a Director of the Company since December 1998 and was Managing Director from February 2001 to December 2017. Mr Barker transitioned to a Non-Executive Director in January 2018. He is also a Non-Executive Director of AFIC, AMCIL Limited and AICS (Australian Investment Company Services Limited, a subsidiary of AFIC), Chairman of Melbourne Business School Ltd, and an Advisory Board member of the Faculty of Business and Economics at the University of Melbourne.

Ian A CampbellIndependent Non-Executive Director.FAICD

Member of the Audit and Investment Committees.

Mr Campbell is a Company Director who was appointed a Director of the Company in November 2007. He is a non-executive Director and Chairman of BWX Limited. He was formerly Managing Director of GUD Holdings Limited and Deputy President of Australian Industry Group (VIC). He was also formerly Managing Director of Pacific Dunlop Cables Group.

Jacinth FairleyIndependent Non-Executive Director.BSc, BVSc (Hons), MBA, FTSE, GAICD

Member of the Audit Committee.

Dr Jackie Fairley was appointed a Director of the Company in February 2018. She is currently the Chief Executive Officer of Starpharma Holdings Ltd, having held this position since 2006. Dr Fairley has more than 30 years of operational experience in the pharmaceutical and biotechnology industries working in business development and senior management roles in companies which include CSL and Faulding/Hospira (now part of Pfizer). Dr Fairley is also Chair of the Invest Victoria Advisory Board, a Board member of the Melbourne Business School and is an adviser to the Carnegie Innovation Fund.

David E Meiklejohn AMIndependent Non-Executive Director.BCom, Dip Ed, FCPA, FAIM, FAICD

Chairman of the Audit Committee. Member of the Investment Committee.

Mr Meiklejohn was appointed a Director of the Company in March 2006. He is a former Chairman of PaperlinX Limited, SPC Ardmona Limited, a former Deputy Chairman of GasNet Australia Limited, a former President of the Melbourne Cricket Club, a former Director of WMC Resources Limited, Coca-Cola Amatil Limited, One Steel Limited and ANZ Banking Group Limited. He was formerly Chief Financial Officer and a Director of Amcor Limited.

Executive Team

Geoffrey N DriverGeneral Manager Business Development and Investor RelationsB Ec, Grad Dip Finance, MAICD

Mr Driver joined the Company in January 2003. Previously, he was with National Australia Bank Ltd for 18 years in various roles covering business strategy, marketing, distribution, investor relations and business operations. Mr Driver was formerly Chairman of Trust for Nature (Victoria).

Andrew JB PorterChief Financial OfficerMA (Hons) (St And), FCA, MAICD

Mr Porter joined the Company in January 2005. He is a Chartered Accountant and has had over 24 years’ experience in accounting and financial management both in the United Kingdom with Andersen Consulting and Credit Suisse First Boston, and in Australia where he was Regional Chief Operating Officer for the Corporate and Investment Banking Division of CSFB. He is the immediate former Chair of The Group of 100 (G100), the peak body for CFOs and remains on the Board, is a Director of the Auditing and Assurance Standards Board (AUASB) and a Director of the Anglican Foundation.

Matthew J RoweCompany SecretaryBA (Hons), MSc Corp Gov, FGIA, FCIS.

Mr Rowe joined the Company in July 2016. He is a Chartered Secretary with over 15 years of experience in corporate governance with a particular focus in listed investment companies. He was previously a corporate governance advisor at a professional services firm which included acting as Company Secretary for three ASX listed companies. Prior to that Matthew was the Company Secretarial Manager for a Funds Management company based in the UK.